top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Why I Live in Atlanta

In the recent months I have found myself defending why I live in Atlanta. I then think to myself... "Well, why do you live where you live?" "Why is your city so much better than my city?" "Why does Atlanta get looked at as the ugly step child of the "big" cities?" I for one am proud to live in this city that I now call home. And here are 6 reasons why:


1. Hartsfield-Jackson Airport: Atlanta is still a thriving destination of the south. We have one of the busiest airports in the world exactly 30 minutes by train from my front door steps. I can come home and be gone to another city and back again quicker than most airports. AND I can go to those cities in a non-stop flight... without connections and layovers.


2. MARTA: Most people would die if they saw this on a "Reasons why to come to Atlanta" list but public transportation has always been apart of my adult life. I lived right next to a Metro stop in Washington D.C. which took me from point A to point B a WHOLE lot quicker than sitting in traffic. Now, in Atlanta, we choose to deliberately buy our house right next to a Marta stop because of the convenience. And to all those people who do sit in Atlanta traffic, I can get to and from work in 20 minutes with little to no thought or frustration at all. Which makes for a very pleasant way to start and end my work day.


3. Food and Beverages: The food scene in Atlanta is ridiculous. We have some of the best new restaurants in the country and they are popping up every day! I'm not much of a foodie but for my job, I need to be. Thankfully I have girls who will drag me to the hot new spots and make me step out of my comfort zone. But the breweries in Atlanta are another hot spot! There are so many throughout the city that offer tours and tastings every weekend. Offering up a ton of fun for just a small cost.


4. A City Among the Trees: Atlanta is known to be the tree canopy. It is rare to find a city with as many trees within the metro area as Atlanta. And among the trees, the city is thriving with public parks. Parks that are clean, safe and a great place to take your dog for a walk right after work, play softball or kickball on the weekends, and all within walking distance from your downtown apartment!


5. City Life but Small Town Feel: Atlanta is built up of tons of little neighborhoods. They all have their own diverse way of living. While these neighborhoods are quaint the city is so spread out. More than likely you will not see your neighbors at your neighborhood grocery store (or if you do it's out of the blue). Atlantians are proud to say they are from their neighborhood and you will here people say "I'm from ___________" (fill in Buckhead, Brookhaven, Decatur, etc.)


6. Corporate America: Atlanta is home to some of the Top Fortune 500 Companies - Home Depot, Chick-Fil-A, UPS, Coca-Cola, Delta, NCR, First Data, Newell Rubbermaid, The Southern Company. The list goes on and on. Not only are fortune 500 companies coming/in Atlanta, the film industry is taking off! Atlanta is the third largest city for filming in America. With the huge tax incentive it is no wonder movies and TV shows alike are flocking to this city.

We all live where we live for some reason. Maybe it's because that is home; it is where you grew up, where your family is and what you know. Maybe you live where you live because of your job and you did not choose where you got to live. But for the most part, we live where we live because we like it. There is something about the city or town that we love. What do you love about your backyard?


Cheers,

Kayla


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page