top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Two Down and a Lifetime to Go

Today is our two year wedding anniversary. Some days it feels like time is flying by and other days I feel like I am soaking up every moment. Year one came with lots of hurdles and bumps in the road. But year two finally felt like we had found our path. A smooth, paved road to venture upon together. I asked Brenden the other night, what did you learn from year two or what was your favorite memory? We both were stumped until we started reminiscing about everything we had done:


Brenden and I enjoyed a year where we made Atlanta our home. Right after our trip to New York, I spent the month of May working crazy hours. I was working overnight shifts that I swore I would never do again (that shift was brutal)! Brenden got yet another promotion and I promised I would never complain about his long hours again because he's putting in the work and getting rewarded. In the fall, I changed jobs but stayed at the same hotel. I finally found a job I could wake up every morning excited to do!


The summer began and we got to enjoy our city. We went to Braves games, spent time with our friends at the gym, in and around our city and in cities such as Chicago, Charleston and Nashville. We both ran our first Peachtree Road Race on the Fourth of July and Brenden took me to my first NFL game to cheer on the Falcons in their brand new stadium where we bumped into some friends that we didn't even realize were there.


In the fall, we helped my Granny Joyce celebrate her 85th birthday. We also celebrated the arrival of our first nephew! We continued the year by running in the race that brought us together as an engaged couple: Savannah's Rock N Roll Half Marathon. This city has so many special memories for us. But we both decided that recovering from a half marathon was not as easy as it used to be... Man are we getting old. We ended the year with a family cruise to Grand Cayman and Cozumel.

In between all the family celebrations, we spent a lot of time with friends; at taco nights, log cabins, and nights out on the town. And so many birthday celebrations we cannot even count! The friends we have made in Atlanta were a huge part of our second year of marriage. Many of them were not at our wedding because we had not even met them yet. But in the last two years, we have made friendships that I know will last us a lifetime. Friends that love us and support us in our marriage and as individuals. And for that I am forever grateful.


I remember starting year two in New York and setting a goal for this year: We are a team. We are in this together and we have each others back. I think that's exactly what we did this year. We set an intention and made it a reality. But we did not do it alone. Thanks to the friends we have made in this city, thanks for our family who has always been there to support and love on us, we made it! And much more gracefully than we did in year one.


We are starting year three at one of our favorite restaurants in Atlanta: Verde Taqueria. I am pretty sure we could eat Mexican almost every meal and never tire of it. But Verde is a place we go with our friends (those taco nights I talked about earlier). It is a staple in our neighborhood. What better way to celebrate year two and begin year three than by being out in our favorite restaurant, in our favorite neighborhood, talking about everything this year has brought us?


If year three is anything like year two, I will be counting our many many blessings!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page