top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Reflecting on 2015

The beginning of a new year is one of my favorite times of year. A time to reflect on the past year and set plans for the upcoming year. Just what an event planner dreams of! :) I just received an email from my fitness certification that really made me think about all that has happened in 2015. Setting resolutions is always one of the first things I do in the new year. Typically they are very S.M.A.R.T. (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and timely) goals. In 2015, I set my goal it "try something new once a month." This is not specific, hardly measurable and somewhat unrealistic. Needless to say, I only stuck with it for about 5 months. In January, I was a decorator. We bought a king size bed, I finished hanging pictures on the walls of our house and our laundry room got finished. In February, I tried swimming.... for one week. That is a sport I don't know that I'll ever be good at. But I tried it and firmly believe if I ever get back into it, I will hire a coach to teach me the in's and out of this intense sport! In March, I decided to read a book a month for the rest of the year. This I actually kept up with. As a kid, I used to read all the time. Then throughout middle school it became a mandatory task which made it not fun which in return made me hate reading. I've really enjoyed burring myself in a good book and letting it whisk me away! It's like a really good movie only even more details. In April, I tried some new recipes with ingredients I'd never cooked with before. We are pretty regimented people so none of these recipes actual stuck... boo! In May, I started what I thought I would never ever do: Crossfit. To this day, I am still attending and loving every minute of these classes. It intensified my workouts, changed my body and made me realize I was silly for every believing the myths of this sport. And after May I dropped off the wagon with trying new things. I went back to my ways of doing the same thing over and over again. However, after reading the ACE Fitness article by Kelley Vargo, I realized it's not an all-or-nothing thing. It's okay if the most vague resolution I've ever set for myself was not completed every month of the year. The good news is, I tried things I never would have tried in the past. I grew just by opening myself up to new possibilities. While it's important to set those S.M.A.R.T. resolutions, it's also important to reflect on everything you did in the past year and learn and grow from it from the new year! Here's to a great 2016 and all that it has in store for us. Cheers, Kayla Preston#fitness #food #goals #resolutions

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page