top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Recap of 2017

It's officially been two months since my last post and I apologize. I seem to do this every year during the last half of the year. Time slips away from me and before I know it we are in the last two weeks of the year and I am scrambling to recap and get my new year's resolutions ready for the next year. So for this post I will give you my recap of 2017 and next week we will jump into those pesky resolutions.


This year was interesting to say the least. I started the year off in a funk about turning twenty-seven and not really knowing where this year would take me. I questioned what I was doing with my life and if I was in the right spot. So instead of dwelling in it, I threw myself into my work. My job kept me pretty busy the first quarter with my biggest quotas yet, a new boss and lots of new clients and events.

In April, we finally scooted away from work and we went to New York for our one year anniversary trip. New York was a lot of fun but definitely not the vacation Brenden and I were longing for. We decided vacations needed to be spent on a beach with a drink in our hand and we instantly made plans for Playa del Carmen in 2018.


The second quarter was just as exciting as the first. May, June and July brought on even more work where I experienced the Hollywood of the South. Two film crews were at the hotel for over three weeks. Two of the three weeks included overnight filming and I can confidently say that is a shift I never want to work again. I have all the respect in the world for people who do work overnight. It is not for me.


August brought on another fun trip to Charleston, SC. Working for a hotel lends great perks at hotels all around the world. We were able to stay in the heart of Charleston on King Street and spend a fun filled girls weekend in this adorable city!


September was a big month for Brenden and me. We both got new jobs! Brenden was promoted to the director of his department and I moved into the sales department as a major market sales manager at the same hotel. We have spent the last quarter of the year delving into our new positions and loving every second of it. Yes, some people may say we (I mean Brenden) works too much but at this stage in our lives, that is our focus. With no [human] kids, our free time is spent on ourselves; at the gym, cooking together, traveling when we can but most of all our work.


Speaking of [human] kids, I became an AUNT this year!! My brother and his wife welcomed their first child into the world on November 27th. His name is James and he is growing by the minute! Sadly, I have not had the chance to meet him yet due to our crazy schedules but I am looking forward to our visit in January to meet this cute nugget!

We added a new fur child to our pack this year. I discovered an organization called Bosley's Place and I fell in love with the work they do. So I fostered this puppy who I knew instantly I would not be able to give up and six weeks later he became ours! Gibson is the perfect fit to our crazy house filled with dogs. While Brenden was hesitant at first, he (nor I) would have it any other way!


While I didn't fulfill all of my New Year's Resolutions, overall I am happy going into 2018. I am ready to put this year behind me and move into my [very] late twenties. This year was about discovering myself and what I want for my life. And I think I successfully did that. Next year, I want to put things into action and see these things progress. Your twenties are about discovering yourself and your thirties are for knowing exactly who you are and living YOUR life. I'm excited I have two more years to figure out this thing called LIFE!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page