top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Recap of 2016

I fell off the wagon again with posting blog posts. I know you missed them... Just kidding!

Overall, 2016 was a pretty good year for me. The first half of the year was spent gearing up for our wedding in April. We celebrated with bachelor and bachelorette trips, bridal showers, and more. And finally in April we got married. We took a trip (our honeymoon) to the Bahamas and discovered being away from the puppies for longer than 7 days is really hard. But we really enjoyed a nice vacation before our busy year of adventures.


The girls (our dogs, Turner and Wrigley) spent most of the year in their crates. After replacing the living room sofas, the rug, the blinds (x2), the staircase banister, the coffee table, the two side tables, two mattresses, a bed frame, and painting our entire house, we decided they had to be crated or else we would need to start a GoFundMe account to pay for all the items we needed to replace. Thankfully, my mother-in-law rescues them every afternoon for a play date at her house and freedom from their crates. We did decide for 2017 we MAY give them a chance in our bonus room upstairs. But of course the room will be clean and cleared of any items besides their toys.

After we replaced almost all of these items, I decided it was time to update our kitchen. Two years ago, we moved into a completely renovated house but our counter tops were cheaply made. And their was no back splash on the wall. So with a little bit of paint, a new counter top and a fancy back splash, we have our completely updated kitchen! It was also my Christmas present this year.

During the summer months, we spent most of our time traveling to friends and families weddings. Besides our own wedding, we attended and were in four weddings this year. We are excited for a more mellow 2017 with only two weddings (so far).


It's definitely that season of our life. Our friends are getting hitched, having babies and buying houses. Growing up isn't so so terrible but I'm struggling with the fact I'm moving into my late twenties in four days. To help relieve some of this stress, I've been making my New Year's Resolution list. For those who do not know, I always associate my birthday with a new chapter and a chance to turn over a new page. It's always the time I set new goals for myself and hope to notice a difference in my life within the year.


This past year was full of adventure but my resolutions fell short. I only managed to hit three out of the ten I made. I'm hoping to make a S.M.A.R.T.E.R list and make bigger strides towards my goals in 2017. Stay tuned for my New Year's Resolution post and start thinking about your goals for the new year!


Cheers,

KPD


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page