top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

March Madness

This is one of my favorite times of year. Do I watch basketball any other time of the year? No. But during March Madness I am devoted!


I first started doing a bracket in my junior year of high school. A few guys from my honors history class, got me set up. I made my bracket based on colors and mascots that year and I WON! Florida won that year and I was not going against the SEC. The next year, I quickly learned that sticking with the SEC is NOT how you win March Madness.


Each year in college, March Madness fell over the same week as spring break. It was tradition that my group of friends and I sit on the balcony of the beach house and pick our brackets. After college finished and we all went our separate ways, our tradition was done from afar and not on a beach balcony but sitting at a desk. We trash talked over texts and submitted brackets only online. Mailed money to a friend and he mailed it back to the winner.


I still have not won since my first year, but my bracket has almost always been better than my now husbands. He would be so embarrassed if he read this right now :) But it is his own fault because he always sticks with Duke and Duke always chokes. Or at least most of the time...

While most of the time I end up looking like the kid to the left, I love how you just never know what can happen in this tournament. Basketball has always been one of my favorite sports but I definitely do not follow it religiously. This is just a fun month to spice up the sports games! And gives me and my husband something to watch together :)


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page