top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Let's Catch Up

It's been almost two months since my last post and I have been busy traveling, traveling and more traveling. Let's recap what has been going on for the last few weeks.

The weekend of my last post, Brenden and I drove up to Chattanooga to celebrate some of our dear friends. They officially tied the knot although we had already accepted her into our friend group months and months ago! The wedding could not have been more perfect and they are both as happy as can be.


The following week was Memorial Day. We celebrated with my family at a Braves game and Chris Stapleton concert. Though the weekend would not have been complete without our youngest (Wrigley) injuring herself and making a trip to the emergency room. She is okay and only lost a toenail but my sweet mother stayed home with her while we all went to the game. The day didn't go according to plan but it was so fun to celebrate with family!


On the actual holiday we celebrated with what has now become a tradition, by participating in the Crossfit workout Murph. This was the first "official" day of my marathon training and boy was it a kicker!


The next two weekends yielded to relaxing weekends in Atlanta. We kept up with the yard work, wrote our thank you notes, and returned a few wedding gifts. The rest of the time we spent going to the vet for annual check-ups and a continuous ear infection. Needless to say, we were spent on visiting the vet almost three weekends in a row. Thankful the pups are all healthy now and we haven't been back since (knock on wood).


The next weekend I took a trip to one of my favorite places in the world: Auburn. I visited with my sister and my bride-to-be friend. We packed her save the dates, went to visit vendors and most importantly try on her wedding dress. Boy do I miss planning my wedding! Thankfully, my friend is keeping me busy with hers :)


The following weekend, Brenden and I packed up the dogs and took a trip back to my hometown. We missed spending Father's Day with my dad so we wanted to make a visit as soon as we could to make it up to him. Brenden spent the day golfing while I stayed back with my mom and sister and we baked. Along with watched the dogs run laps in my parents "park".


Finally, we got a three day weekend! We packed up the car (yes, again) with the dogs and Brenden's grandmother and made the drive down the Destin, Florida. The Fourth of July is just meant to be spent at the beach. We visited with Brenden's family, had a shrimp boil, played games, and then drove back again a few days later. Maybe thirty miles from home, after a long day of driving, we got rearer-ended. Boo. Thankfully the police were quick to arrive on scene. We got our report and were able to drive the vehicle home.


My last two weeks have been very relaxing. Brenden took a trip up to Chicago to visit some friends while I stayed back and binged watched The Walking Dead. (Don't spoil it for me because I didn't make it ALL the way through) In these two weeks, the dogs have chewed through out sheets, mattress pad, and mattress leaving an impressive amount of foam everywhere. And my mileage turned into double digits.


Summer has been a thrill to say the least. With numerous vet visits, trips to visit friends and family, and relaxing weekends at home. It's everything we could want and more. This weekend we are taking a trip to visit with my siblings and our significant others. No parents were allowed but of course all the dogs are invited. I'm sure there will be more stories to come from this adventure.


To Be Continued...

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page