top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Greenest Show on Grass

This past weekend I attended the Greenest Show on Grass. This was a bucket list item that was not even on my list. Scottsdale, Arizona is one of my favorite places to visit. Yes, it's hot but man is it gorgeous.

Some of you may be wondering what the "Greenest Show on Grass" is and let me tell you, I had no idea either. This is the Waste Management Phoenix Open. It is held in Arizona the last week of January first weekend of February every year. And it is nothing like your typical PGA Tour golf tournaments.


I have only been to one golf tournament before and you had to be really quite and make sure you did not interrupt the golfers. So when we got to our spot on the 16th Hole I was very surprised to see everyone talking really loudly and booing the golfers when they did not make it on the green. The hole has stands that wrap around the hole like a stadium and everyone is cheering and yelling while the golfers hit. There was even an announcer yelling "QUIET!" and of course no one was listening!


I started to realize this golf tournament was known for the hooping and hollaring. This was my kind of golf tournament! I did not have to sit there and be quiet and I got to throw a little money down on which golfer would get closest to the hole. We had a lot of fun.


If you have never heard of the Phoenix Open, the Greenest Show on Grass, or the World's Largest Outdoor Cocktail Party, I would highly recommend adding this to your bucket list. Be sure to buy a suite on the 16th Hole, get tickets to the show afterwards and then go out in Scottsdale afterwards. It will be a weekend you always remember... or barely remember.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page