top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Golfing for the First Time

I consider myself pretty athletic... in sports that do not involve a ball. Gymnastics, track, swimming etc. If I have to use hand-eye coordination, I am screwed. I have tried softball. I have tried soccer. I have tried kickball. It's just not for me. But golf has always been something that interests me. How on earth can you spend HOURS doing the same thing and never get bored? I ask my husband this almost every single weekend.

This week, Atlanta is in full Masters mode. At work, we invited some clients to stay at the hotel and attend the tournament later this week. But to fill their time before they go, we might as well take them golfing. One client backed out and a team had an extra spot on their foursome. If I have ever heard one thing a million times over, it is that business happens on the golf course. And if you are going to be good at sales you better know how to golf. Well, great! I do not know how to golf but by gosh... I am going golfing!


I do not own anything that resembles a golf outfit and I was invited the night before we went golfing. My husband was so excited for me. He ran to Dick's Athletics for me, picked out an adorable golf outfit and off I went. I showed up the next morning in my golf skirt, a purple pullover and a winning attitude.


So as not to hold up anyone's golf game, I am just going to play the Par Three's. I told my team, I have never even so much as picked up a golf club unless I was at a Putt Putt course. One of the guys on my team quickly told me he played golf in college. And the other guy said, "Yeah and he played on scholarship so he's really damn good!" EVEN BETTER! ha


What I quickly learned about golfing is, no one judges anyone! You can be the best golfer or the worst golfer. Yes, they may tease you but over all everyone just wants to have great conversation, hit a few balls around and enjoy a sunny day on the golf course. It was much more relaxed than I ever thought it could be and I actually made a sale!


I told my husband when I got back that I wanted to pick up this sport. The few Par 3's that I attempted were actually a lot of fun and I did not get [too] frustrated. He laughed and said, "I'll play with you after you play a full round of golf with someone else." Because he knows I will probably never make it through a full four hours of golf without throwing a fit about something!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page