top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Gibson's Love Day

About a year and a week ago, I was driving home from an adoption event with a tired pup in my back seat. He was curled up in a ball with his eyes closed super tight and a "Adopt Me" vest still on him. I kept staring back in my rear view mirror and thinking, this dog is meant to be ours. On our way to every event, he would sit in my lap while I was driving and put his head on my shoulder. And at every adoption event, I would have to leave because he would just stare at me and want me to pick him up. He had no interest in meeting any other family because he knew he had found his forever home with us.

Fast forward a year and week and this little pooch never left! We officially adopted him on April 8, 2017 and he became a part of our pack. Over the last year, we have had a lot of changes trying to juggle three dogs. But thanks to my in-laws and their willingness to pick up the dogs twice a week for play dates we make it work.


Gibson had a busy year! This past summer he went to obedience school and passed his beginner course but learned half of the intermediate class during because we had one on one sessions. He is a really smart dog and is eager to please.

One of his favorite activities is going to Central Bark Atlanta to play at least once a week. If we could afford it, I would send him three days a week because he has so much energy. I have quickly realized he must have a daily run of at least three miles and a very active afternoon after work of playing with his other two fur-siblings or a lengthy game of fetch.


Gibson has never met a strange dog. He befriends every dog almost instantly. But if the other dog has a little hesitance, he gets down on their level and has a stare off until he wins over their affection. His howl is one of my favorites even though it drives Brenden crazy but letting them all run wild in the back yard is some of my favorite things to do.

People ask me all the time how do you handle having three dogs. And I normally just respond with once you have two, what's one more? But I have learned so much about having three dogs this year. It's okay that they do not all go and do everything together. They all have very individual and unique personalities and they do not like all of the same things... just like humans. Some need more activity and some like different toys and treats. And that's okay. Yes, they are pack animals and they love being together but having those one on one snuggle times is so fun!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page