top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Fostering a Fur Baby

One of my other "Fundamentals of Life" are my fur babies! I do not know where I would be without them. They keep me happy when I am sad. And now our newest adventure is fostering a fur baby.


I met Gibson the first week in February at my works Puppy Bowl event. He was eight weeks old and the craziest little thing. I just knew he would be the perfect fit for my family. That night, I went home and told my husband, we have to get this dog. We toggled with the idea for about a week and just came to the decision having THREE dogs was too much.


The first week of March, I saw his picture on Bosley's Place Facebook. I immediately responded and said is that Gibson? The owner quickly responded with yes, and he needs a new foster home this weekend. I sent her a direct message, filled out my foster application and got him the next weekend.


The first week we had him it was clearly evident that three dogs was a lot. He was just 12 weeks old and still learning the lay of the land but he was so smart and caught on really quick. Each weekend he goes to adoption events where he has the potential to be adopted. I worked the first weekend and just fell even more in love. I told my husband, I could not imagine giving him up.


My husband quickly fell in love too and Gibson took towards Wrigley almost instantly. The second week we had Gibson all we could think was "Okay, we have to keep him." We filled out our application, told our friends and family we were keeping him and then we got the talks.... Everyone's first reaction was "Three dogs is a lot." "Are you sure you are ready for this?" "Do you know what you are getting into?" "Do you even have the money for that?" We were heart broken. We knew he was a great fit for our family and it made since to keep him. But with that much push back, how could we make this decision?


After a really long weekend of pondering, we were back at square one saying "Three is just too much." Who knew fostering could have such a roller coaster of emotions? We are still very attached to Gibson but have come to the realization he needs a family; with kids to grow up with and run around with. He needs a mom or dad that are at home to burn that energy. He needs to be out and about not trapped in a crate for 8 hours.


So if you are looking for a smart 14 week old puppy, Gibson is your dog. He is crate trained, potty trained, knows a few simple tricks (but is learning more every day), loves to go on walks and runs, sleeps through the night and is very treat motivated! He weighs about 16 pounds and will probably only be 40-60 lbs full grown. He is looking for his furever family! Can you help him find a home? Please visit Bosley's Place for more information on the adoption process.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page