top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Fearful February

February was one of those months I did not know if I would survive. However, I am writing this on March 1st so you can see that I did make it and am probably being a little dramatic. But it's also why you did not see any blog posts from me this past month. Let me catch you up:

This month came with LOTS of changes in my work life. I just accepted a new job in January and am just starting to learn the ropes of this new role. While the job is still at the same location, it brings on new challenges and more responsibility that have been exciting to take on.


The team I am apart of got a huge change this month. One of our most senior team members retired and our direct supervisor accepted a new position at a new hotel. Leaving our seasoned, rock star team to two amazing managers and me. We added a new coordinator to help balance the work load and then awaited a new supervisor to be put into the job.


During the month, my two team members had unexpected time out of the office, leaving me and the new coordinator to face the work load alone. My two team members and myself were given the task to hit our highest monthly quota EVER in the shortest month of the year with a very limited staff. Needless to say, I started this month with a lot of fear.


What I am beginning to realize is that sales is a roller coaster job. One moment, you think you have the business locked in and the next they go decide to go in a different direction. With a quota weighing over your head, sometimes this can be very stressful. It's my responsibility to book business and hold my fair share of the budget. What if I don't hold up my end of the job?


At the end of the month, we had our new supervisor put into place and my two members back in the office. We finished the month at 103% of our goal, literally crushing these numbers I believed to be so scary. With the help of our new coordinator and the help of my two members, I learned to believe in myself.


The work load seemed impossible on February 1st and now on March 1st they were very possible. It gives me hope for this year and helped me realize I am stronger than what I believed. Work will come in go but the lessons learned from it were invaluable. Some months will be busier than others and some months quotas will be larger than others. I am ready for the challenges of this role and know that whatever is thrown at me, I will face it head on.


Charging forward,

Kayla


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page