top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Families are Difficult

Almost everyone you know has someone in their family who is a little different. They usually go against the grain, cause a lot of drama for no reason, and probably end up as the odd man out. I like to refer to these people as the "black sheep." Sometimes these black sheep do things that our families can never speak of again! But sometimes they are just being who they are. Weird in all their glory but still a member of your family.


I write this because in my family I am the black sheep. I was the one causing trouble, ending up in a sticky situation, and usually going against the grain. Almost everyday I say to myself, "I am so lucky for the parents I have!" If it was not for them and their tough love, I would lead a completely different live. They pushed me to be better. But even in my darkest hours my parents stood by my side. Probably not happy with my decisions but does this mean they should write me off?


While I was not the easiest to raise, I could never imagine something coming between my family and me. There were a few times the silent treatment was the best option. So we all would not say something we did not mean. However, even if they did not believe in everything I was doing with my life, there was never be a doubt in my mind that my parents would push me to the way side or that I would push them to the side. But sometimes in family dynamics that happens!! Families divide and siblings, parents, and children go their separate ways. And then somehow they go years without speaking to each other.


I think about families who I have seen this happen to. Things that appear so small causing families to be ripped apart for years and years. I know there are some things much bigger that push us to completely remove that person from our lives. Maybe it is for safety, sanity, or just overall good reason for that person to not be in our lives. But God tells us in 1 Corinthians 13:8 that love never fails! Maybe we love from a distance but hopefully we can forgive and learn to love through the troubles.

Families are difficult because everyone is different. If we were all cookie cut of our parents, we would all probably live a very boring life. But with life experiences and challenges and mixing with other families, you get this group of humans that make your family. Whether you are the black sheep or the golden child, you have a place in your family. If it has been a while since you spoke to someone in your family, take this is a sign to reach out to that someone. Whether it is your parents or your sibling or your child. You never know how a phone call can effect a persons day.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page