top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Books & Brunch

When I was a little girl, I used to love to read. My mom would read us books. I would read books for Accelerated Reader (AR) points. You never once had to tell me twice to read... until about 5th grade. After that, reading turned into magazines, blog posts, and occasionally newspaper articles. And of course in college reading involved ONLY textbooks and I could not stand to have any thing else in my reading funnel. After graduation, I changed my mentality of reading and decided to make a challenge for myself on Goodreads to read 5 books a year. I doubt I made it that first year but I have since geared back up and started reading 12+ books a year.


You are laughing... I know! Twelve books is not a lot but I tried to make it a goal to read at least one book a month. Reading is a lost art. Sooo maybe you aren't laughing at my lofty goal of twelve books in a year. Maybe you would be lucky to have read one book in a year. Reading is the best forty minutes of my day. I try to read twenty minutes to work and twenty minutes from work. (Perks of public transportation) But what happens when you read and have no one to talk to about this amazing story? Well let me put it in millennial terms: when you find a great show on Netflix you probably run around telling everyone about your new favorite show... That is the same for books except there are few people that actually LIKE to read.

Thankfully some of my best girlfriends at work are very avid readers and started a book club called Brunch and Books. Well, if you know me, brunch is one of my favorite things to do. Add that to hanging with friends and talking about a great book you have one great little club! Some of our books have been 'meh' and then other books have been so good I have recommended them to my mother. She is a tough one to get a good book by because she reads probably twelve books a month. But this one actually passed her test.


"With Love From the Inside" by Angela Pisel is an emotional book. Probably my favorite one of our club so far. I would HIGHLY recommend you read it but here is my warning... Keep tissues close by. And if you are a mother or a daughter be sure to call them and tell them how much you love them.


I wanted to share a few others that we have read that I would highly recommend:

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah - This book is not like a normal Kristin Hannah book. It is set during the time frame of World War II. Now before you completely write it off, give this book a chance. It is a story of two sisters who fought day and night to keep their relationship alive!

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty - I loved the dynamic of these three ladies. This book goes from present to past tense very often; interjecting with interviews from the night of the crime. These are very much your everyday school day parents/families.

Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand In the Sun and Be Your Own Person by Shonda Rhimes - Yes, this is the writer for Grey's Anatomy, Scandal and How to Get Away With Murder. Her autobiography. I have laughed out loud on the train reading this book. Shonda finds a way to be so personal with you. You feel like her best friend. I found myself believing I was best friends with all the characters she builds up in her TGIT shows.


You can see all of these books are a little different and provide such a different world to escape to. I challenge you this summer to read one book (if you are not an avid reader). Maybe one of these books. Take yourself to another world for even just 20 minutes a day. It is a nice escape from this crazy world we are living in today.


What is one of your favorite books? Let me know in the comments below.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page