top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Donahue

Nutrition Challenge 2017

It is a new year and a chance to start a new diet! Yes, we all do it. Kick off the new year with this fancy new "diet" and say we are going to stick with it through the WHOLE year...But we make it so strict that by the first week we are STARVING and have deprived our body of everything we actually enjoy and you are only eating foods you hate. No wonder we never make it through those "fad diets."

Nutrition is a lifestyle change. It is not something that happens over night and it is not something that comes easy either. You will have to work at this portion of your life daily!


But....


You will have to work at choosing the healthy foods, the actual measuring of your foods, and train your body to crave what it needs not what it wants. The gym is not going to do that for you. You can workout everyday and be considered unhealthy because of your diet. (I'm talking to myself here.)


My biggest New Year's Resolution is my diet. I have eaten like a child for, well, my entire life. Pizza, Macaroni and Cheese, Sweets, etc. I could go on forever. But I have always balanced this with a "good workout." It is time to grow up. It is time to make choices for the foods my body actually needs.


Therefore, I am embarking on the Nutrition Challenge with my Crossfit gym. There is no specific diet laid out because we all know how that works... it doesn't. The challenge allows you to choose what diet works for you. It was put together more so for the accountability. Tonight we are all getting dunked. What does that mean you may ask?


The Body Fat Truck is a way to accurately measure your body. It shows your fat and fat-free body mass as percentages and actual weight, how much fat you need to lose to achieve your desired body composition and how many calories per day you burn without exercising. This is the only way I've found to measure myself and not be completely disappointed in the results. Granted it will still be extremely disappointing to see the results tonight but I am ready for it.


So here is to the start of something new. I hope by the end of this challenge I can confidently say I kicked some of my childish habits, adopted new adult eating habits, and enjoyed the body fat loss that should hopefully come with this lifestyle change! Stay tuned for follow-ups throughout the process.


Cheers,

KPD


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page